Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Just another day in paradise part IX
2007-04-24

I'm pretty sure my shop foreman is interviewing at another company. He's made comments and his scheduled time off pattern make things pretty clear. He's taking half a day off today and just now he asked me for my interpetation of lean manufacturing. You don't ask that out of the blue without a reason. He hates my boss. Pretty much everybody else hates my boss. Nothing I can do about that. This will be the second one I lose in four months. Life goes on.
Ahhh, but I still have sailing. Last night was a perfect night for it. The temp almost hit 90 in the big city. It was very nice down by the water too. I emailed the whole crew and most of the sailing friends. Neil said he was definately in. The rest never answered, but they never do. They just usually show up. I got the boat ready and waited. Nobody came, I didn't sail.
I'm a good sailor. That's not bragging, it just is what it is. I seriously thought about flying solo, I can handle the boat solo in most conditions. But... The wind was honking pretty good, the water was still ice cold and we hadn't shaken things down. Problems with the sails or engine would have been very difficult to deal with alone. There also wouldn't be any help getting in or out of the dock and 40 feet is 40 feet you know? So I grabbed a seat, sat in the back and watched the kids practice, disappointed.
It's going to be another beautiful day today. What will I be doing? Working... and then after work going out to dinner with my mom. Can't beat that for fun on a beautiful sunny day huh? She is insisting on taking me out to dinner for my birthday which is Friday. I'm in a bad loop. I certainly hope it changes soon. I'll just have to wait and see I guess.
Later
me

Previous - Next

Top