Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

No good deed goes unpunished...part 34
2007-04-20

I spent the night in meetings. That's not so unusual except for the part where I had no idea these meeting were even happeneing before I went to them. That you have to admit is a little strange.
I got home and there is a message on the machine from Angelo, our resident rich excentric Italian with the bad heart and somewhat failing mind. HE's rambling along about them building a school in my backyard. Huh? OK... So I stop to see one of the more coherent neighbors and she asks if I got the letter. Letter? Well it seems that thye do want to build a 400 student private school in our little piney woods and swamp and there is a meeting to discuss the plans at 7:00 at stupid dog who knocks over the trash's house. OK... I put that on the agenda.
I'm getting out of shape so I decide to start serious walking again. I head off to the club. M.E will pick me up when she wakes up from her power nap. She got called in the night before. The walk is uneventful and I get there fairly quickly. Once there I hear there is a meeting on all kinds of issues. I do not plan on attending.
M.E never shows up so rather than calling an dwaking her, I decide to walk back. On th eway a friend stops me and asks if I'm going to the meeting. Um, no... He's planning on resigning... Well now I have to go. I had his old job and it is the worst one in the world. He did a damn good at it and was esentially forced out by the board. Great...
So I get to the meeting at Stupid Dogs house and sure enough, they want to build a school, not in my back yard, but at the end of our street. The "main road" is just two lanes, one in each direction and is very heavily traveled. Sometimes you can wait several minutes just to get out and often I start out in the opposite dirtection just to be able to get moving (I turn at the red light up the street). The plans are nice, the people are nice, I'm sure the school will be nice, but this is not the place for it.
So I dash out and the phone rings, it's M.E. ready to pick me up. Um, hon?? I've already walked back, gone to a meeting and am now standing in the driveway talkign to you on the cell... Oh...
So I go back in just long enough to explain I have to leave. I get to the club, grab a grapes and arrive just in time for the fight. I take the only open seat right near my friend. It is a good seat. There is much finger pointing yelling and name calling. My name comes up several times as do several others who served in this position. I don't say a word. When the thing is done, my friend gets up and leaves. I walk out with him. There were several more issues to be discussed, some pretty controversial. I didn't care. It was time. I talked with friends for a few, updated John (who also lives on our street) on the school proposal and headed home. Blah...
Oh, by the way, the sun is finally out and maybe sailing this weekend. Come and play?
Later

Previous - Next

Top