Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Drunk guy in a bar
2007-03-23

Well, the new boat floor is completely installed and I only have one piece that needs to be reworked. A small board around the mast needs to be cut a little wider so that it fit's properly. This I think I can manage.
To celebrate, we went to dinner at the sports bar over by the airport. It's a new place, very cool with lots of plasmas and neon and sports stuff. The food and service have been great too and with the NCAAs going on and M.E. hooked on her pool, it seemed like a logical choice.
It was pretty crowded when we walked in, but we found two good seats at the bar which were unfortunately beside this very loud drunk. We talked about moving, decided it wasn't worth it and placed our orders. The gamees were pretty good and it was obvious that everyone was there to watch. There was lots of pointing, various bracket sheets basketball talk and the like. Well I should say it was obvious to everyone but the drunk. He asks the bartender to turn on the juke box which she does and he proceeds to dump $7 in, all onhead bangng music.
Well I can watch the game without the sound, and I can ignore the music. Fine, we'll eat and leave, except this isn't good enough for drunk no-basketball guy. He keeps asking the bartender (who must be a friend of his) to keep turning up the music and she does. The third time she cranks it up, was just too much. It is at nearly eardrum shattering levels. Drunk is happy, I am not and call over the bartender. Is it too late to cancel our meals? We're moving on... Why? Well Ms Ditz, we and I'd guess the majority of the folks here in this SPORTS BAR are here to watch the game, not have my ears destroyed by this music. Ohhh, I'll check in the kitchen.
I'm not who she talked to in the kitchen, but she came out and immediately turned off the music. Half the place burst out in applause and cheered even louder when she turned up the sound on the game, She then stopped by and said we could cancel our meals if we liked, but they were almost done. No, reason to cancel now. We'll stay... Thanks...
Well drunk guy is mad. They give him his $7 back and ge goes outside mumbling that there are other bars in the state. The manager pops by and I thank him. He says, look at this crowd, that was a no brainer. Thank you for bringing to my attention.. Soooo, we'll be back.
Happy Friday,
Ron

Previous - Next

Top