Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Norman Island 2007
2007-03-12

After lunch we walked the long sandy beach, poking in shops and playing in the waves. Just up the beach is this old rum distillery in what looks to be an abandoned building with holes in the roof. Kervin runs the place all by himself and they make rum the old fashioned way, from sugar cane. He once was featured on the Travel Channel. We sampled the wares, took some pictures and bought some product. Then we headed back to the boat to rest up for happy hour at Myettes.
We were all there by the time happy hour started because our favorite island singer Kapeye was playing. Kapeye is a kind of Buffet wanna be, a retired NY school teacher living his dream. We hooked up with him last time and ended up as his back up singers. This time, we not only sang, but were part of the international rythem section playing things like tamborines, wood blocks, something called a guido and shakers. I was way good on the shaker... BTW, this will be the only time you EVER see me singing live so if you weren't there, you missed your chance. I was good though, damn good.
After his set was over Kayeye came to the table for more pictures and a drink. Cool guy... We had dinner at the restaurant and the food was great. Then some of the folks went back to the boats and the rest of us ended up at Quitos by the dingy dock. The last time were were there Quito was singing with his band and I was not impressed. They were loud and honestly I thought not very good. This time it was just Quito and his guitar and he was AWESOME... We stayed until we ran out of steam and crashed for the night.
The next morning, we headed for Norman Island. The wind was dead on the nose and catamarans do not point well so we motored for the two hours it took to get there. The anchorage was mostly empty and we found a nice secluded spot near this small reef. Cool...
We headed into the beach for lunch and the place was mobbed. It seems a cruise ship has adeal with the bar there and there were a zillion people eating and drinking. The service turned out to be good though and we were soon full and ready to snorkle. They all cleared out by mid-afternoon and then the place was great.
After swimming and rum drinks we headed back to the boats to rest up for the Willy T. I made dinner and they finally brought over some wine. Life was good.
The Willy T is an old metal schooner with a restaurant and bar. The food is just OK but the bar is one of the wilder places in the islands. We had nine of is in matching shirts so we stood out a bit. I was sitting in the bar for a minding my own business when I look over and this girl is getting two fake tattoos on her boobs from the bartender. He is applying them using his tongue. Ok... I don't think we are Kansas any more.
Then three couples come in, all older guys with younger well developed women. I do not think the over development was by any stretch of the imagination real, but they were quite spectacular and I'm sure quite expensive. The first woman walks up to the bar and proceeds to take off here shirt. There is nothing underneath. She then lays on the bar and the bartender squirts her with whipped cream in strategic places and pours alcohol on her which the old dude licks up. The other two couples repeat the process... OK...
The first girl asks me for the time and I flash my watch in her direction. She proceeds to rub her boobs on my arm. Then two girls from the back of the boat try to hit on me. Um, no, I have a ring, see? They didn't seem to mind. At that point, I thought it really was time to go.
We headed back to Pirates which was completely empty, for one drink and then back to the boat where I just sat in the cockpit and looked at the stars for a bit. So ended another day in paridise.

Previous - Next

Top