Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

2007 Mon/Tue
2007-03-09

Foxy is a local legend in the BVI's. He parlayed a grass shack and an old guitar into a multi-million dollar empire so I guess he did OK. Pretty much all the visitors to the islands have to stop by one of his places to pay homage and if they are lucky hear him sing. They also buy a lot of drinks and clothes with the Foxy logo on them at prices rangig from merely obscene to totally outragous. Foxy is no fool. He was there and I got to talk to him for a bit. He was carrying boxes, the dude still carrys his own boxes. Buisness was good,yes, he was singing but not not until tonight. would we be back? Maybe...
Folks staple stuff to the ceiling at Foxy's. Some of it stays, some of it doesn't. I never figured ou tthe pattern. I looked for the shirts I had had put up there in trips past, but they were gone. The business card I left from the last trip was still there though. Weird...
Claude was so no way walking back over the seven hills to get back to the boat so we looked for a cab. Seemed like a simple task, there was one parked right in front of the building, but after asking several people, we learned that the guy driving decided he had made enough money today so he was done. Island time mon... You want a beer?
We walked down the beach to the cab stand and there were three there, but they also apparently had toiled hard enough so we had to wait while the one guy on the island who was actually working showed up. When he did finally show up, he had issues. What these issues were I have no idea since they were discussed with various other folks and at one point his 6 year old child at lightning speed in a language yet to be determined. We just stood there on the side of the road and waited for the drama to die down. eventually it did and he took us back to the dingy. He never said a word until he stopped. Then we couldn't get the guy to shut up.
When we got back to the boat, the other folks were waiting. They wanted dinner, now... Um, no... I need a shower and a drink and honstly, I'm not all that hungry. I had lunch which you decided not to attend. They offered to stay, but one started whining, but I'm hungry. Go, please go... I'll help you cast off, just stop whining....
We cleaned up, chilled down and an hour and a half later headed in. Of course with this being the islands and all, they hadn't eaten yet... Because of the notherly waves this harbor was full for the night and the staff was overwhelmed. OK, I wasn't in a hurry...
By the third time though that the waitress said she'd be by to take our drink orders, I made a comment that I could just help myself. When she heard this I was pulled out of my chair, directed to the bar and shown were all the mixes and bottle were and how to start a tab. For the rest of the night the bar was strictly self service. That worked, I even made drinks for other folks, no extra charge.
Dinner was OK and we eventually headed over to Sydneys so the ladies could shop. The same self service bar situation existed there except a; it wasn't busy and b: the bartender was there just sitting in a chair not working. It's the islands mon... I had one drink, M.E. bought a skirt and Claude bought half of JVD. Then we headed back to the boats for a very sound and long sleep.
I got up on Tuesday morning feeling nice and refreshed. I made a big breakfast for us all, swam some and sat on the deck jut taking in the show. The harbor emptied at a fast and furious rate and by 10:00 only a few of us were left. The other crew were snorkeling by some rocks and found a fish stuck in a cage and they were determined to free him which they eventually did. They thought this was a good thing, I wasn't so sure. In the cage he was safe, obviously well fed and couldn't be eaten by a bigger fish. Outside he was likely to be someones dinner, maybe even ours. We'll never know I guess.
We pulled out around 11:00 for the short motor to Cane Garden Bay. The northerly swells were still pretty big and all the guide books say to stay out of there when they are rolling. The waves were breaking on the rocks on both sides and I was a bit aprehensive. If it didn't work, we'd hit Sopers Hole instead.
The further we got in though the waves flattened and the forecast was for them to subside so I figured we'd be Ok and we were. Cane Garden Bay is considered one of the most beautiful harbors in the islands and I won't disagree. The water is clear and blue, the sand white and fluffy, the hills colorful and the places to go varried. We cleaned up some and all hopped in the inflatables for the ride to shore. Lunch was waiting...

Previous - Next

Top