Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

-
2006-12-01

The third week is a done deal. A fourth week is not an option. Nobody there gets more than three. I can cope... The 401K match is lousy, but just the money I'd save on gas more than makes up for it. They also promise the match will be going up as profits improve and they are projected to improve.
I guess I don't have any reasons to say no. Was I hopeing for some? I'm not sure. I like all the people here alot. I like the relaxed atmosphere and the fact that I can drift off without being noticed. There will be no drifting at the new place. I'll be top banana in my division. Of course, I won't have to ask anybody's permission to leave but my own.
M.E wondered what I would do if they current place made a counter offer. I'm not sure. It would have to be a good one. We're talking $13K additional at the new place and two less hours a day on the road and all the wear and tear that entails on both the car and driver...
I will make no announcement here until all the t's are crossed and i's dotted. That mostly involves sending in some paper work and passing the pee in the cup test. I'm good at those and won't even need to study much. Then I'll have to sit down and have a heart to heart with the boss. He and lots of folks will be pretty devistated. I have a good rep here for getting things done and making people smile.
The new place will be expecting lots from me. I have a month to work with the outgoing (retiring) guy to get the lay of the land. Hopefully I'll use it wisely. I need to totally re-lay out the department and move it without disrupting production. Fun, fun, fun...
I'll keep you posted, but it looks like the old Captain is movin on.
Later
me

Previous - Next

Top