Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

It keep you running
2006-11-17

I'm never going to be a great runner. My legs are too short, my shoulders are too wide, I'm too old, too broken down, too well everything. That being said, I am getting better. I had my best time ever for 5 miles last night. I pounded it pretty hard (for an old dude). I was soaked after the first mile and huffing and puffing by mile two. My legs hold up supprisingly well considering all the abuse they've been through. It's my lungs that always force me to slow down. Four bouts of adult pneumonia will do that I guess, but even they are improving. Every little bit helps, right?
It's kind of a surprise. If I can keep this up, I have a chance to be in the best shape I've EVER been in by spring. We'll see... Somebody came up to me at the awards banquit the other night and said, what ever you're doing, keep it up, you look fnatastic. I don't think I look fantastic, but it was nice to hear.
I think I actually exercised myself into endorphin land last night and combined with the howling wind and rainstorm I got very little sleep. This is not a good thing. I need my sleep. Coffee will be a major factor in surviving this day.
It's been so warm here lately that I doubt we'll see seals on Sunday. I left the binoculars on board just in case though. They always make M.E so excited and honestly I think they are pretty cool too.
It's still raining out although it is supposed to clear. I really do need sunshine. I keep saying I'm going to go tanning, but the damn scheule keeps gettin in the way.
The YC annual meeting is tonight. I have to go. There is a budget to vote on, new officers... An appearance is expected although I think I'd rather stay home in front of the big screen after putting in a couple of miles.
No more deceased mice to report although we almost did catch puppy in one of the traps yeaterday. Food... he smelled food. Scared the crap out of him when it snapped(fortunately figuratively only). I'll change the cheese this weekend.
Well, most of the leaves are now down and the gutters and yard again need cleaning. There goes tomorrow. A Captains work is never done....
I see I have a new person who listed me as a favorite and that always makes me smile. I always wonder why anyone would want to stop by here. I think my life and writing ability are both rather ordinary. Even the sailing stories have been pretty few and far between this year and now the season is pretty much done. :-( Thanks for stopping by though!!! Pretty much everyone is welcome here as long as you play nice :-)
HappY Friday!!!!
Ron

Previous - Next

Top