Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Blowin in the wind? Yup
2006-10-30

All hell broke loose this weekend. There were floods and super high tides and boats crashing all over the northeast. Fortunately, my little piece of the world survived rather nicely... Well, except for the fears of a potentially wet basement that proved to be unfounded and a few worries about the the boat which also proved to be a non-issue.

I took the main sail off on Friday and yesterday took a full load of gear home. It's that time of year. All the food, bedding, pots and pans, all the stuff that make it a second home are now gone. I emptied the water tanks too. :-( All the sailing stuff is still there though and will be until the very end. That's always the saddest day, not the day it comes out, but the day I take the last sail off...
The small marina way down the cove is no more. All their docks broke free and they and the boats attached to them went for a ride. Weeeeee... A few were still on the opposite shore yesterday. I know how that feels.
There is a huge powerboat tied to the dock outside of mine. They tried to do a delivery on Saturday and had to take emergency refuge. Idiots.... We all knew this was coming... We all knew it would be bad, very bad... Some people are just dumber than stumps.
With the change in the hours, I guess all my after work exercise will be done indoors from now on. I'm still progressively losing, but of course never fast enough. I did have to buy a new belt and a new suit will be in order for M.E.s Christmas party at the Venus... 6 weeks... It would be cool if I could drop another 10 by then. We'll see...
I'm ankle deep in leaves. There were a ton of broken branches too... Lots of them were stuck directly in the ground and I gave an occasional glance upward as I gathered them up. Dispite it being almost Halloween, I had no urge to be impailed. Next weekend will involve trying to remove them all so I hope the rest fall down before then.
Wedneswday it will be November. Where the hell has this year gone? I even bought my first Christmas present already. Sigh...
HappY Monday
me

Previous - Next

Top