Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

I'm not.....
2006-10-26

I'm not... Just a short phrase, funny how it changes the dynamic... When I really needed a job I'd have to explain why the company went belly up or expound on how we ran out of cash. It always put me at a disadvantage. But now, it's different. When the HR manager and Director of Operations asked yesterday why I was looking to move, I replied simply, I'm not. The I proceeded to tell them all the great stuff about the place I work. All of it was true. The only downside was and is the commute... Oh and by the way, I didn't apply, you called me. Ahhhhh....
Well, as soon as that came out, I sort of went from prospective applicant to potential target. Both guys went in to semi-high sales mode. The money is better here, the commute would be much batter, it's a family atmosphere. Yes we had troubles, but we're making money the last few years and have huge potential for growth... We need sombody with your experience, blah, blah, blah...
There is going to be a second round of interviews. There are two other candidates. I will be invited back, I've already been told. The next round will be in a week to ten days.
M.E thinks I don't like the place. That's not really true. Will it be as much fun as here? Probably not, but if and that's a big if I get offered the position, we'll weight all the plusses and minuses and decide then, not now so there is no reason to be excited, yet...
Man it was cold this morning. M.E got called in twice last night, the last time at 4:00 am so we're all dragging this morning. After I took puppy out and fed him, he went straight to the beddroom and plopped himself on the bed. He was contently snoring away when I left. I wish I could have joined him. I was glad I warmed up the truck, even if it does use more gas. What am I going to do when winter comes? Answer? Freeze...
I'm getting along a bit better with the new bartender at the YC. This is a good thing. When it is busy, a good relationship can mean the difference between no wait and standing there forever with an empty glass. Option one is the goal :-)
The forecast for the weekend looks AWFUL. Rain, high winds yuck... No sailing... Maybe I'll take a load off on SUnday though, if the rain stops. The end is nigh, sigh....
Happy Thursday
later,
me

Previous - Next

Top