Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

And the casons go rolling along.
2006-10-17

The church was way to small for the number fo people there. We got there fairly early and managed to snag standing room against one wall. The late commers stood in the entry way or outside. Phil did have friends.
The coffin was flag drapped and in the center of the room. His family sat in a semi-circle around it. Except for his girlfriend, everyone seemed pretty at peace with things. There was a piano player and a soloist. The service was fairly short, a few psalms a few stories of Phils life. My back was killing me, so short was good. When the service was over we all headed to the YC for the "celebration".
It was mobbed. There had to be a couple hundred people I guess. They had food and drink, but we ended up in front of the slide show of pictures of Phils life. I bet we stood there for at least half an hour and in every shot he had a smile on his face. That's just who he was. There were a few more speaches, we gave Eva our condolences. I raised a glass of grapes in his honor. He would have liked that, I'm sure.
He's going to be burried with full military honors at Arlington. There will be a horse drawn carrage, 21 gun salute, all the trappings... I'm sure he'd be embarrassed by all the fuss.
And so it goes and the rest of us try and return to our regularly scheduled lives...
Ron

PS, I got a call yesterday, a managers job for a fairly prestigous company, close to home, better money... Maybe less security though. I like it here, but, I'd gain two hours of travel time a day, more than that when the snow flies. I really don't know what I should do... Suggestions?

Previous - Next

Top