Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Slow ride, take it easy....
2006-08-17

I�m busy, busy, busy� I got out fairly late last night, but not too late to sail. It was one of those light air nights, where trimming the sails is easy, but staying in the wind is not. The water was flat so I left the inflatable on deck and that was fine. The sky was a perfect blue with big puffball white clouds and the sun felt hot on my face even though the night was fairly cool. We motored through the little boats and then sailed out to meet the main fleet. Life got interesting a few times as we tried not to get in anybodies way. That�s not always easy when you�ve got three fleets of boats in an area as small as the upper bay, but we managed. I never turned on the radio. The quiet was intense, sometimes a stray voice or a wave lapping on the bow managed to break through, but mostly it was just quiet. We didn�t talk a lot, it just seemed inappropriate. We headed back before the racing ended and watched the way to early sunset develop over the hills. I hate that it is getting dark early. Then we put the boat to sleep, and headed back to reality.

Previous - Next

Top