Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Run Forest Run
2006-04-18

Because it was Marathon Monday, they gave us free soup and chili and stuff and then we all went off to watch the runners come through town. It's the first time I've ever seen a race of this caliber in person and man these guys were flying. They were all tall and thin and mostly legs. I am not built for marathons.... Kenyans as usual led the pack.

I guess when you get folks from countries in third world countries where food is scarce and promise them all they can eat and they don't have to catch it, all they have to do is run down a paved road, it's a pretty good incentive. No wonder an American hasn't won in so many years there is just too much food here.
The guy who won averaged just about 13 miles per hour over 26+ miles. I don't think I can run at 13 miles per hour. Not for a block, not for ever... Quite a while after the lead runners, the the masses came. There were all sizes, colors outfits here. There was even one guy in a fairy suit complete with wand and another dressed liek the Easter Bunny. It takes all kinds I guess....

I have a new route into and back to work. I've got it down to a pretty consistant 70 minutes. I can deal with that. The new route goes right by the abandoned GM plant up here. Sad to think that all those jobs are gone... Oh well....
Work itself is going well and the days are passing nicely. I try to walk every day at noon and am gradually feeling out the neightborhood. The food here is really good and cheap so walking is most definately a good thing....
Oh well I need to get moving here.
Happy Tuesday.
Later
me

Previous - Next

Top