Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Is that a mast on yoru car or are you just happy to see me?
2006-04-07

I had a million things to do yesterday and couldn't decide where to start... So I did what any normal person does in that situation, I bought an old aluminum sailboat mast and turned it into a flagpole.
I didn't start the day intending to even have this on my list. I was just stopping in a rigging shop I hadn't been in forever... I noticed the blown out windows and the sign on the door that said they were closed. The place looked abandoned, but I checked the door and it was unlocked so I went in.
The office was dark and empty, but there was noise in the back. When I got around the corner I could see there had been a major fire. The roof was missing in spots and there was water every where. How I didn't hear about this I have no clue. News usually travels fast in the sailing community.
Kim the owner was salvaging parts. He told me about the fire and I told him about Jimmy dying. He didn't have the parts I wanted in stock. As we were leaving I asked him on a whim if he had any bad sailboat masts. He answered LOTS.
The first one he picked out and it was just what I was looking for. it was about 30 feet long, in decent shape and no tracks. I asked how much and held my breath. He was kind of known for being a bandit. $40 later all I had to do was figure out how to get it home.
I tied it too the roof rack and it stuck out lots on BOTH ends. I drove slowly and people gave me a VERy wide berth. It shifted once and I thought I might lose it, but we made it home without incident. A bunch of drilling and screwing and an occasional cuss word later, I have a new flagpole. I even cut the old rotted one up for firewood. Aren't you proud of me?
Yeah, me too. Today I may fix the side steps. And life goes on.

Previous - Next

Top