Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

A day in the life........................
2006-03-29

The day started on a somewhat promising note. The rabid growling from puppy could only mean there was somebody at the door. It turned out to be the guy from the tree company that was hired by the electric company to prune trees on our very rural street.
These people move at the pace of banana slugs and manage to block most of our very narrow and winding road, but besides that they seem harmless.
Well, the guy introduces himself shows me his badge (who knew you needed a badge to cut down trees? I never needed any stinking badges...) Uh, anyway, he asks if he could cut down one of my trees. Sisnce I have oh maybe a million or so and I do like electricity I gave him the AOK.
I guess since that went so well he decided to press his luck. The next door neighbor had hired them to take out a tree that hangs over my yard. Can they please drive on my lawn to cut it down. Well the tree episode from last winter left that yard a mess so it was really no bother to say yes. I ask him to give me a price on cutting down the stump from the old tree of doom and he says he'll do it for free, and mulch my brush pile all for letting them work in the yard. SCORE!!!!
The I get an email from one of my bestest internet friends Trish that I can now listen to her live on the web. Ms Trish you understand is a star. I likedd the show and plan to maake it a regular stop in my daily routine when ever possible. Thanks Trish!!!
Well I'm feeling pretty good about myself when I realize I missed a call from the headhunter on the cell. It is about the job at the paper. I'm figuring it is finally my job offerIt isn't. They are interviewing more candidates. This is a very bad sign since I was the only candidate for a while. Damn... I wanted that job. Blah...
Well now I'm depressed and the latest news wipes out the free tree work and internet happiness completely. I decide a nice lunch with a glass o grapes is the correct remedy. The place up the street has a special, a sandwich, side and drink for $5.95 and for an extra buck that beverage can be grapes. I'm in...
I place my order, sip on my drink and play a little Keno. The first two I lose, then I hit $3, play again and hit $3 and play one more time and hit $17. My lunch is paid for, plus, but I'm still bummed out about the job.
I head down to the boat and start cleaning like a madman. I have so much bleach cleaner sprayed that at one point I have to go topside to be able to breath. I finish that up, make the bed and lock things up. I think it is time for another grapes.
I'm on the deck with the old timers when the phone rings. I don't recoginze the number. Turns out to be the place in Mass. Are they dumping me too? It turns out they are not. They want to make me an offer. It's a good offer. $7 grand more that I was making, 401K with a nice match, stock options, 3 weeks vacation with a fourth week after 3 years, nice medical package. The drive will be a killer, but hey, I'll adjust. I'm back employed.
So M.E. and I went out last night to celebrate and it looks like my days of semi leisure are coming to an end. Maybe good things come in threes or even fours? We'll see.
Happy Wednesday,
Ron

Previous - Next

Top