Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Rudolph? Is that you?
2006-02-28

I let puppy out for his usual after work romp in the yard. When he didn't show up in the usual time span I went looking. I found him in the back yard on full point staring at 10 deer in the next door neighbors yard. He wasn't making a sound. The deer were nervously staring back. A true animal Mexican standoff.
I was afraid he'd chase them and end up who knows where, so I went after him. I got pretty close when all hell broke loose. The deer started to run, the dog started to run and hell even I started to run. It turned out that other than the circus like action it was mostly much ado about nothing and we all ended up no worse for wear. We ended up on the inside, they ended up on the outside and for that moment all was right with the world.
When it all settled down the deer ambled back over to our yard. It was the most I've ever seen. They all looked well fed and healthy. The also ate large amounts of my lawn and the birdseed out of the feeders. Maybe I need to show them pictures of the difference between birds and deers? Apparently they have some species identification issues?
Puppy decided that with a glass door and a deck between he and the deer, it would be a good time to show them who's boss and began barking. They all scattered for a bit, but were back if a few minutes. I wish M.E. was home. She loves the deer.
There was a fire last night right next to the plant. A gas explosion took out a two family. Nobody was hurt, but the house is gone and all the local streets are covered in a thick layer of ice from the fire fighting. No one thought to sand. Sweet. There is a high school right around the corner. I've seen how they drive. There will be sirens later today without a doubt.
I made fajitas for dinner (yum) and after that we did absolutely nothing last night. We were all in bed by 10:00 and I feel pretty good today.
The powers that be are trying to come up with a way to save our biggest customer. It is literally a corporate life and death situation. So far I'm not impressed, but it is only a first draft so maybe it will improve. If not....
Wednesday is the first of March. For Thursday's commute in, they are talking snow. BLAH....
And life goes on.

Previous - Next

Top