Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

TV land revisited.
2006-02-23

I'm thinking of moving my rambles and rants to another site. If I do, you'll be the second to know. I've been here a long time, but the management just doesn't seem willing or able to address things so maybe it is time to find a new place. We'll see...
During my travels for work yesterday, I got caught up in an an accident. It seems that a lady and her daughter ran a red light and were hit by a firetruck that was responding to a call. It wasn't much of a fair fight. It was just something interesting until I saw on the news that the womans 12 year old daughter died in the crash. I'm not sure how you live with that... A bit of inattention and you've caused the death of your child. I hope she is a strong person. She is going to need every bit of it. It really made me sadder than I would have expected. Kids are not suppose to die.
On the positive front, I picked up my check from the refinance of the house and it is safely sitting in our bank account. It is so nice to see positive balances even if it will just be for a bit. I also E-filed my taxes last night and that money should be here in a couple of weeks. Yeaaaa money. I also painted the main bathroom lavender (shut up, I didn't pick the color). Quite the busy boy.
To top that eventful day yesterday, I also did something very stupid. I bought a big TV. With the job situation the way it is and with all the bills and uncertanty, I shouldn't have done it but I did. So it goes.
I never buy stuff for me. Ever, but it was something I wanted for a long time and the stars lined up just right and it was a great deal so now I have a 50" projection LDP Hi-Def stereo equipped monster sitting in the newly refurbished livingroom and it looks great.
A call to the cable company to get us switched to digital and a couple of wires attached to stereo to facilitate surround sound and my life (from a TV viewing standpoint) will be complete.
Thus started the game of musical TVs. The new TV which came with it's own stand (some assembly required instructions in Chinglish)is now in place. The old 36 inch conventional TV which seemed to be made of spent uranium had to be lugged downstairs along with it's stand. I managed to break a wheel off the stand lugging it down the stairs. A wood block discretely hidden now replaces said wheel. The 20 inch in the basement is now in the computer/tredmill room. I need cables and an adapter and a few well placed drilled holes in the floor to connect it to the cable system. The 13 inch that was in the computer room now sits in basement, unloved. It will get over it.
Phew... I'm pretty sore from lugging all those TVs arround. One knee is very cranky and there is a knot in my back that won't be going away any time soon. Most of the damage was caused by the 36" and the stairs. Fun, fun, fun... I know I know, we have way too many TVs. What are you going to do... Everybody has to have at least one vice right? (shut up again I know I have more than one). At least I don't collect human skulls or something.
M.E was pretty excited about the whole thing although if the truth be known the lavender bathroom probably at least tied for first place. Puppy on the other hand is not pleased. He hates change and wouldn't even go in the livingroom while the TV box was there. Now he kind of looks at the new TV warily. He'll get use to it, I hope.
Well, off to the world of business. Happy Thursday all,
me

Previous - Next

Top