Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Shop till I pop
2006-02-21

Re: The job situation... I'm going to try to do what any self respecting person in my position should do.... Ignore the whole mess. There isn't anything I can do to change things. If we close, we close, so why drive myself nuts with worry? I know they like me. I know they will try to keep me and keep the company open. I just have to hope things change and it works out and worry about things I can do something about like a big screeen Hi-Def TV for my recently redecorated and rearranged living room.
This whole women are from Venus thing has no better example than shopping. Actually, if my wife is any example, Venus is way too close. We're talking galaxies in a land far far away here. I shop like I live life. If you find somethign you like and the price is decent, you buy it and take it home and plug the damn thing is and life is good.
M.E. on the other hand when she finds something she likes has to go to a million other stores to make sure there still isn't something better or cheaper or purple. We shopped together yesterday. The WHOLE day... We bought? NOTHING!!!! To her this was a sucessful day because she now has more to think about. To me it was a big fat failure because, well because we bought nothing. Maybe it is the old hunter gatherer thing, I don't know, but when I shop a whole day and buy zero, I'm not feeling all warm and fuzzy inside.
One of the things we tried to buy were new end tables. When did a few scraps of wood glued together approach the price of my first car? After much looking and pricing we finally found a set we liked at a price that merely made ud gulp and now go into full blown convuslions.
They went to check if it was in stock so of course it wasn't and wasn't going to be reordered. The saleslady offered to sell us the floor sample for $100 off. To me, I'm in on that all day. To M.E. floor sample equals not brand new so the deal was off. Wonderful... So I tell her we'll just get her second pick. She was debating over three... But because it wasn't my first choice, she didn't like it any more. We left empty handed. BLAH....
I'm going to tell her to just buy what she wants and when it comes in I'll tell her how nice it looks. Better for my blood pressure.
I'm working on the main bathroom and the last bedroom now. Then the kitchen. We're making progress, slow, but slow. I need to get all this done so I can begin boat projects. The sun is out and I'm ready for spring.
Happy Tuesday,
Ron

Previous - Next

Top