Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Be happy I don't take it all.....
2006-01-26

This morning there was a fairly large sealed carton sitting in the parking space next to mine. I'm in before 7:00 so the parking lot is mostly empty except for this bis ass carton just sitting in the middle of the space. It was like some weird art movement, or perhaps a college prank gone amiss.
Parking is at a major premiumm here so my first thought is to move it. I guess that would be most peoples first thought. There is a carton in a space, get it out of there so people can park. Duh... My second thought however was, Hmmm, we've let a few people go in the last week, I wonder if there is a bomb in that box that will explode when I pick it up? I'm sure my father in his whole life never thought a package sitting in a parking lot was a bomb. Isn't progress wonderful.....
BTW it turned out not to be a bomb, but obsolete packaging material that was supposed to have ended up in the dumpster but didn't. Obsolete packaging is not nearly exciting as a bomb, but it is much more conducive to me surviving the day. Thank you.
I paid the bills and balanced the checkbook while making dinner. Dinner was shepards pie with mashed califlower instead of potatos. The food turned out better than the checkbook. Oh it balanced fine, but after the bills were paid, $237 remained. Not exactly stellar end of month performance.
To add insult to injury, after dinner, I sat down with a glass of grapes and roughed out my taxes. Last year we owed everybody, the feds, RI, Mass and Ct. States I've never even been too seemed to be lookign for a cut. Fun, fun, fun... This year Ct is no longer in the picture so if worse came to worse, I'd only owe the feds and two states. Owing two has to be better than owing three right? AT least the paperwork required to give them my hard earned money will be less. A small but significant plus.
I was realy concerned about the six months I collected unemployment and didn't pay taxes on it. When you are only receiving $400 a week and the bills stay the same, paying taxes are not an option. So I didn't. When I did get to work, I took a ton of extra money out to make up for it. Would it be enough?
The extra taxes were one of the reasons we got into this nice hole we are in now and why the house is being refinanced, so there was major trepidation when I punched in the numbers...
And.... It looks like we are getting money back, and not just a little bit, lots.... M.E. says not to get too excited, that something is probably messed up and we won't get that much, but I've double checked everything. Damn... It would be so nice not to be broke if even for a while.
I was so happy with my news that I changed into my painting clothes and put another coat of trim paint on the computer room. I am so going to get that room finished this weekend.
Yeller is already swearing to himself and yelling at full steam ahead mode so it looks to be a wonderful day. Lord, give them peace.
Happy Thursday,
Ron

Previous - Next

Top