Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Objects in mirror may be closer than they appear....
2006-01-11

Well, yesterday took a few unexpected turns. On the plus side, I had my review and got all exceeds expectations or outstandings except for two areas. In both job knowledge and communications, I got met expectations. Well the job knowledge is because I've only been here six months, but in communications, He thinks I'm too quiet at times. I could think of several bosses who whould laugh their heads off at that comment, but here there may be a bit of truth in it.
Over the years and through all the turmoil of manufacturing in the northeast, I've learned to keep my head down and keep plugging. You try not to get too close, to make things too personal in case the doors close tomorrow. I don't even have pictures or stuff on my desk any more. It makes it easier if you have to pack on short notice, as you mostly know I've done deveral times in the last dozen years. Couple that with a couple of co-workers that don't take disagreement well and well, you get less than a Chatty Cathy (which one of my sisters had BTW).
So I was pretty happy and expecting or at least hoping for a decent raise as I was promised. It didn't happen. I was told that they were very happy with me and hoped to get me involved in all the rest of the stuff that needed to be fixed here and Oh by the way, see you in six months for the raise. That was a little deflating...
Things did get better quickly though. Instead of the two year waiting period to get in the bonus plan, I've been added now. Not only the regular bonus plan that is based on a percentage of sales, but the top level plan that is apercentage of profit. Sweet... That could run into several thousand dollars. Still, I was kind of bumming about the lack of a raise.
But... On the way back to the plant, I mentioned that with all the driving I do for the company, the price of gas was killing me. He asked me, so You aren't submitting your receipts? No, nobody told me I could. So, he says, well I know eventually I promised you a company car, but as of today, just save all your gas receipts and the company will pay you back. Folks it's not just the work miles, it's all my miles!!! Ding, ding, ding, we have a winner... That's an extra three grand or so a year, and if the price of gas goes through the roof again? I'm inflation proof. Very sweet...
So I'm a bit excited to say the least and can't wait to get home to tell M.E. She starts reading to the review and looking at all my outstandings and excellents and then she gets kind of a weird look on her face. She says did you read this? I said no, he read it and I just listened. Well here in the back, it says you lack management skills and don't work enough hours? Huh? That doesn't make sense. You just read how wonderful they think I am... Well that's what it says in black and white, you better read it. So I do...
And she is right, sort of. The first part is a glowing review. One of the best I've ever had. The back, not so good, average at best. And the reason for this disparity? Somethign I caught and she didn't.... The first half was my review, the second part, was the review of the supervisor from downstairs that some how got attached to the back of mine... Hahahahahaha....
So now I bust her up about doubting my management skills. :-)
Today is her birthday so we went out for a nice dinner and a bottle of grapes in my old hometown. Then we hit the club for one and one of her best friends was there and they yakked and yakked until it was later than it should have been. When my alarm when off, she was still in bed. She had shut hers off. Oops... So I dashed and got ready and took puppy out and fed him, while she tried to get her eyes open and not be late for work. Oh before I left I gave her her birthday card and gifts. Awww, what a god Captain...
Happy Tuesday,
me

Previous - Next

Top