Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

String um up....
2005-12-02

I went to the budget meeting for the other yacht Club I belong to last night. Yes the other club, technically I belong to three, but the third ones club house is only a phone booth so I usually only count the two real ones.
I usually try to avoid this particular meeting because people there will literally spend hours arguing over pennies. Last night however, there was supposed to be a hearing to throw out a member and his wife and as you know, everybody loves a good lynching.
The members in question bought a new boat. It was too big to fit in their slip. The dock committe moved them over ONE slip. They refused to move and rather than follow the protocol in such situations i.e. appeal to the board they hired a lawyer and sued. They lost and were fined and suspended for a month. They didn't pay and didn't heed the suspension. Oops... They are appealing the decision to the supreme court. They club had enough and decided to throw them out. They requested an appeal to the entire membership last night so the crowd was huge...
And... They didn't show. Oh they passed out a nice letter, but they pulled a no show. As it turns out, I don't think it would have mattered. An informal vote to support the board was 218 to 9. Then we argued budget and argued and argued. The reason? Increasing the dues from $465 to $500. After an hour I finally made a motion to cut off debate and move the issue. The Treasurer and Commodore looked releived. Some members were not happy, but the motion was seconded and voted on. The vote? 218 to 9. Hmm, where have I seen that number before?
Upstairs later both officers came by to shake my hand and both bought me drinks. Sweet. I was home well before 10:00 and only a few dollars lighter in the wallet. I didn't get to see a lynching, but productive none the less.
M.E. is looking at getting a new car. We're sort of broke, but what ever makes her happy is fine. She wants the 4 wheel drive version of her current car. Works for me.
Puppy was attached to the hip this morning. Big sloppy dog kisses are bad enough, but when you get them right after he drank a gallon or so of water, well, bring on the bath towels.
No big plans for the weekend. A few boat buttoning up projects and putting up the damn Christmas lights.
Have a great weekend all.
Ron

Previous - Next

Top