Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Stay inside the lines....
2005-11-15

It's starting to sink in that the season is over. I'm not sure what I am going to do to get my water fix. Most of you will never understand. I'm not sure that even I do sometimes. It's just something that is a part of me I guess and when it isn't there, I feel incomplete.
My relationship with the water is love hate. It took away my brother and at times strikes great fear in my heart because of that. Yet like the lover you knew was bad for you, but that you couldn't leave, the ocean is my mistress and yes I do love her so.
I have always had this great dream of taking off someday, just leaving and seeing the world. I'd love to spend a winter just sailing the Carribbean. Stopping at all the islands, making friends, hanging out and when it was time, moving on to the next place until I found a place that felt like home. It's not going to happen for a lot of reasons, but the dream is something I hang on to when things get tough. So I do.
I have to hang on extremely tight when the snows come and I go to work in the dark and come home in the dark and my joints hurt and the lack of sun makes me cranky and tired. Palm trees and rum drinks... A new island every day.... Some day, some day... I know it won't happen, but....
I have to go to the membership meeting at the Club tonight and meet with the guy who caused me to resign as Fleet Captain. It was for the best. I really didn't need the added stress. I'm a bit happier now and at a time when happiness is measured in tiny bits, every added bit to the plus side helps.
The people I'm sponsoring I don't even really know so if he bounces them, it is no skin off my nose and will make him look even worse than he already does. A small plus I guess. I'll probably get there early and walk the dock to check on the boat. It's as close to the water as I'm going to get until April...
In other non-news, I was asleep by 10:00 again last night. Puppy managed to open a bathroom door and ate a whole roll of toilet paper some time during the night. We'll have to see how that all works out today but he was in rare form this morning. Bad puppy, bad, bad, bad. Yeller is also in rare form this morning. Bad Yeller, bad, bad, bad....
That's it I guess. Happy Tuesday to my friends and to all the ships at sea.
Ron

Previous - Next

Top