Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Code Blue...
2005-11-03

I was expecting a quiet night. I got out a bit early, checked out the boat, talked to the guys and had a grapes. Nothing out of the ordinary. M.E was running a little late and asked me to stop at the drug store on the way home. No problem. I did and still had dinner ready when she walked in the door. I had planned on staying home and crashing early. I was beat. The best laid plans....
I was crashed on the couch reading the paper when the phone rang. I could tell by the intonation of M.E.s voice that something was wrong. When she said you better talk to Ron, I figured it was brother related. It was. He had had another heart incident. He was doing fine and then all of a sudden felt cold and couldn't breathe. His heart rate went off the charts and it took the crash cart and all it's wonderful potions and equipment to get him back on track. They were taking him to ECCU and we should get there quickly.
Fortunately we are only 10 minutes from the hospital. We went to the room where he was supposed to be and it was empty. The nurse at the desk checked and finally found that he was still upstairs in his regular room. We took a staff elevator up there and found him attached to several drips and a couple of monitors calmly watching the Celtis on his TV. The crash cart was still sitting ominously in the middle of the floor.
I guess we came pretty close to losing him again and nobody is sure why. His potassium was fine this time. WTF? Now in addition to the 5 doctors he already has, add cartiologist to the list. One more thing to worry about. Sigh...
It took an hour for him to finally get transported. We waited for him to get settled in. We finally left around 10:00 and he was still watching the Celtics. They won in OT so he must have been happy.
I really wish they'd get this straightened out. I'm sure he does too.

Previous - Next

Top