Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

We saw a seal. Winter must be on the way
2005-10-31

We sailed yesterday, and it was wonderful. One of those warm fall days without a cloud in the sky and just enough breeze to keep things interesting without being cold. There was sun, sun and more sun. After the rainest month ever it felt good on my face and hands.
We sailed and sailed and sailed and I never wanted to go back in. I don't have to think out there, just react. I'm good at reacting. Me and the sea. The sea and me. I'll probably have my ashes spread (dumped?) there when I die. It seems right.
I maybe had one or two grapes too many. It wasn't anything majorly noticeable except to me. Certainly nobody on the dock noticed. My landing was picture perfect dispite the 15 knots coming over the transom. We saw a seal eating a fish. Everybody that we passed waved. For a too breif while everything was right with the world. Now it is Monday.
We've been starting to strip things off in preparation for winter storage. The mainsail came off yesterday. I did it myself. It's good therapy. I could have used help folding it on the dock. It's 28 feet long and 56 feet tall so it's a bit of a hand full. I hoped somebody would offer, but whould have died before I asked for help. Nobody offered and I managed to do a decent job solo. It's now in the basement.
The boat always looks so sad without the main. I guess it's a reminder that the season is winding down and winter, painful winter is coming. I'll keep the jib on the furler and two winch handles on board until the very end, because you just never know. Right?
We'll find out tomorrow on my brother (hopefully). He looks a bit better and isn't in as much pain. He's still in the ICU and still on major drugs but his color looked a bit better. The fine medical staff stopped his heart on Saturday. Too much fluid out, not enough potassium in, but that's fine now. We just have to see if they can stop the infections. So we wait. Thank you to all those who sent prayers and well wishes. Right now we are hanging by the thinnest positive thread and that might be making the difference. Thanks....
One of the places I applied to and almost took a job at has an ad for an Engineering Manager. I wonder if that was the position of the guy who wanted to hire me and if it is, what went wrong for him? He seemed like a nice guy. I'll have to call today and find out.
Have I mentioned how much I hate the changing of the hours? Sunset at 4:45 SUCKS!!! Yes indeedy it does and that's all I'm going to say about that.
Last day of the month and a Monday(ship day). Should be fun, fun, fun.
The sun is out. This is a good thing.
Happy Monday.
Ron

Previous - Next

Top