Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Rain, rain, go away... Part ?
2005-10-11

I didn't get to go to the water. All the monsoon type weather you probably have been seeing on TV that has moistened the northeast took care of that. The forecast for the next week solid is the same, cold, dark, rainy. Add water and repeat endlessly... Blah...
So, to make up for me not getting to the water, it decided to come to me. Waking up to "Ron, there is water downstairs" is not the most pleasent way to start your day. It ranks right up there with "Your dog was sick on the rug again" and "Where is the snow shovel" on my all time list of not good ways to wake up.
Pondering the thought of flooding however does hasten the process of eye opening so I jumped into some clothes and yes, there was water downstairs. Just freaking wonderful.
Now with the several inches of rain that have fallen, and all the flooding I've seen on TV, I assumed that the water was coming in from outside. It was a good assumtion, a rational assumption, it was also a wrong assumption. It turns out that my water heater, with which we have sort of a love hate relationship decided that it had had enough of the duties of holding our water and decided to, in a quite unauthorized manner deposit said water all across the tile, right up to the bottom of the stairs.
Now finding the problem was a goodly percentage to solving the problem. Currently we are in a state of transition. The water has been wipped up, the plumber called and a huge bucket is collecting the stuff that should be coming out of my shower. I'll have to head home at lunch and empty the bucket and probably leave early to do the same so I don't get a repeat of yesterday morning. I also have to hit the Depot tonight for a new heater. (The plumber is a friend and says they sell them cheaper than he can buy them). Tomorrow I get to take time out of work to wait and pay doctor like fees while the new tank is installed. Fun, fun, fun....
Besides that, life is wonderful... or perhaps not.
Happy Monday/Tuesday world and if you know any anti-rain dances or chants, please feel free to send them our way.
Later
Ron

Previous - Next

Top