Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Karn Evil Nine.....
2005-09-15

Welcome back my friends to the show that never ends. We're so glad you could attend. Come in side, come inside.....
Well, after a pretty awful day at work I was ready for some serious sailing relief. The weather seemed to be cooperating, there was breeze and I got out early. M.E. was even off call and would be able to play. All major plusses... I sent out an email to all the usual suspects and hoped for the best.
When I got to the club, Mike was already there. He was also already three sheets to the wind. (note sailing analogy) Not a good sign. I had a glass of grapes to decompress and stood on the deck gabbing with a few of the regulars. Martin eventually showed up, all we needed was M.E. So we waited and waited and finally at almost 6:00 she called and said she was just getting out of work and for us to take off. We did.
Mike wanted to take his boat and it was easier for us to do that than it was to argue with him at this point. I drove, Martin trimmed and Mike told the same story over and over and over. We all had our proper place in the universe.
It really was a nice night though and I didn't let all the repetitive rambling bother me much. The bay was mostly empty and we had the place to ourselves. I tried to focus on the water and used my recently refined tuning out filter (used with mixed sucess on crazy yelling office mate) to maximum efficiency. It was warm, the breeze was steady, the boat was making tracks and I was mostly happy, all good things. We never put on any tunes so in between the rambling, I could listen to the water hitting the bow and the hiss of the stern wake. Nice...
We turned back just before R8 off Warwick Light. Mike wanted to keep sailing, but the last launch stops at 8:00 this time of year and I knew it would be slower on the ride back. It was. The sunset wasn't great, but it was adaquate. It matched my mood at that point so again things were in balance.
We got back to the mooring at 7:55. Perfect timing and I immediately called the launch. Mike was still talking and never even noticed that we had put everything away, turned the electronics off and that the launch was here. We poured him in the boat and headed to shore.
M.E. was sitting at the bar taalking to the new bartender who use to be a rock musician. They were discussing whether Keith Emerson of ELP was really god. I had a glass o grapes and we decided what to do about Mike. It was a short discussion. We left our drinks on the bar and drove him home. I was the lucky one. I got the car without him. I'm sure M.E. got to "enjoy" the same story I heard all night. Fun, fun, fun....
We got back to the bar just in time to see one of the Sox players break his leg while running after a home run. Really weird. Then we headed home.
Once there, things didn't improve much. There was a message from my doctor. Nothing to worry about, but he wants to discuss my echocardiogram today at 1:45. Um, if there is nothing to worry about why do I have to go in? I guess I'll find out at 1:45.
Yeller seems to be in fine fashion today so I guess it will be a good day to get out early. I'm surviving on caffine again today so I hope the mornign flies by quickly. Happy Thursday world. Take care of yourself.
Love
me

Previous - Next

Top