Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

The water is supposed to be on the OUTSIDE....
2005-05-12

I didn't get to sail yesterday. Even though the weather was perfect, and warm and breezy... I planned to, I went out there and even started getting stuff ready, but...
The knotmeter has been sticking. I figured I'd clean that before I went out. I lifted the floorboard in that spot and found, water. There is not supposed to be water in this area, ever.
I pull the floorboard over the keel sump and it is full, like 18" (or approx 642 gallons) of water. UGH... I try toggling the bilge pump switch, but absolutely nothing is happening. I jiggle the wires. I am really good at jiggling. Nothing... This mostly exhausts my electrical experience so I call my boat guy (yes we all have a boat guy) and he sounds concerned, drops what he is doing and heads over immediately. This is never a good sign.
Bob (the boat guy) pokes around a bit and then says before we can find out where the water is coming in from and why the pump isn't working, we need to get the water out. He heads off in search of his electric pump. I disassemble the boat and then hit the hand pump. It is like trying to pump out a swiming pool with a coffee cup. I'm making progress but it is SLOW progress. My bad shoulder isn't helping.
Eventually Bob shows back up with a pump and an hour or so later I have a relatively dry vessel. The findings, the bilge pump est mort. We aren't sure what happened, but it literally blew it's top. We've both never seen that before. It now sleeps with the fishes.
It's too late in the day to get a new pump so that is on today's agenda. We're hoping the water is just accumulated rainwater from the monsoon season we've been experiencing lately. Water come in through the mast when it pours.
So I didn't get to sail, I'll probably get a hefty bill and I need to reassemble the boat today. It's all par for the course of being me lately. Oh there is one plus though. Today it is Ron 1 Squirrels a big fat ZERO.
Happy Thursday.
Ron

Previous - Next

Top