Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

If I get home before daylight I just might get some sleep tonight...
2005-05-02

Well, the whole "surprise" birthday party thing went pretty well. We had so many folks that I had to move it from the YC bar to the members lounge in the next room so I guess that's a good thing. Bob the bartender was happy I think. He made a few bucks in tips. Stepdad got free coffee so he was happy too. Whatever it takes, right?
I scored some cash (well appreciated) and red grapes (even more so) and lottery tickets which yielded even more cash ($40). M.E. said to buy something for myself so of course the microwave over the stove picked just that time to die from the terminal illness that has been affecting it for the last year.
This microwave has been a pain since we bought it. I has been losing functions since day one and the extended warrenty that we purchased turned out to be a scam. They don't fix them and mostly don't replace them. They just basicly gave us the money we paid for the warrenty back as the pro-rated value of the piece of junk. Nice scam huh?
Well I could live without the lights and even the fan. The display wasn't necessary, just time and start. That's all I need. Well, start has been pretty selective lately. I took it apart and sort of fixed it once, but Saturday it just decided that no matter what, it wasn't going to cooperate.
Having a microwave that does not start, doesn't have lights, or a fan makes it a very large and expensive clock, or it would if that function were working. It is now sitting waiting for the junkpile.
Of course taking it out there was collateral damage. I wiped out two knobs on the real stove that I am not sure can be repaired so we are down to two burners. You'd love to be me right?
Oh and of course they were out of the big on sale microwave at giant electronics store who doesn't give a craps are us. The appliance manager said it was the most problem plagued unit they had anyway so I bought a GE. Happy birthday to me.
I ran into the commodore yesterday and she advised that the board has not accepted my resignation. I advised her they really doesn't have a choice now do they? I thought it was a really good point. All in all she and the rear commodore who I bumped into yesterday also were very supportive which was appreciated. I am NOT going to change my mind however so they need to get looking to fill this spot.
Have I mentioned that I need a real job lately? I thought so...
Well off to send out resumes. Happy Monday world and all the ships at sea.
Later
Ron

Previous - Next

Top