Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Dinner for nine?
2005-04-19

Yes world, I am alive and mostly well and we survived our excursion to Newport with only minor wine related casualties.
The trip down was mostly fine. We were literally the only boat on the bay, the sun was strong and the wind off the nose but not too bad util we hit the bridge. Then a southeasterly filled in, the temp dropped 20 degrees and we FROZE. Not a good thing.
We got tired up, checked in, had some lunch and a grapes or two and waited for company. It came in hoardes. It was the new members party night and M.E. as well as my friend Gary who had the stroke we officially invited.
I put on a nice white sweater and a nice pair of slacks. M.E. looked great and we headed up the dock. There were more people than I expected, and they had lots of picky food. The commodore was nice enough to spill a full glass of wine on my now not so white sweater and I had to go change right in the middle of the show.
Some how we ended up with nine people for dinner which I managed to feed and seat with out much muss or fuss. We had staek tips in gravy, veggies sauteed in garlic and a huge salad. We killed more than one glass of grapes. I slept very well that night.
Sunday was spectacular. It hit 70+. An old and recently divorced friend came down to spend the day and we wandered the streets of Newport eventually stopping for lunch and then hitting the new YC bar to watch the frostbite racing right outside the windows. Cool...
After Mary left, we went down to the boat and I made dinner and we stayed put for the night. Works for me. The trip back was uneventful but nice. We motored the whole way though and the sound of the deisel can get tiring. I think I'll get some sailing in this week though so it will all be fine.
Hope you all had a good weekend.
Later
Ron

Previous - Next

Top