Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

The last sunset...
2005-03-27

We met on the docks and didn't like each other at all at first. He was cocky and opinionated. So was I maybe a little. He became my first real sailing friend except when we competed head to head. We worked on our boats together, drank beer together, rann the locak YC together and sailed, sailed and sailed together.
He was there on my first trip to the BVI's, my first trip to Newport and Block and Cuttyhunk. He was part of my crew when we won the Nationals in 93 and drank himself silly that night in celebration. When he needed somebody to drive in the team race, he called me.
I introduced him to his wife, Mush, then a member of my crew. They drank blue margerittas in Jamestown and it because "their" drink. The wedding was fun and they borrowed my spinnaker so they could sail to Nantucket for their honeymoon.
His mom and step dad were some of my best friends. We spent many a day in the old boartyard drinking cheap win out of jugs and solving the worlds problems. we knew each other very well so I knew the pain that was there this morning when Phil made the call. Jim passed away at 6:00 last night. I guess it wasn't a surprise, but in another way it always is when somebody dies too young. Please say a prayer for his wife and two young kids OK?
Thanks,
Ron

Previous - Next

Top