Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Nitty gritty dirt...
2005-02-07

I needed to change my attitude badly. I can't change the situation, but I can change how I feel at least for a small while so I did what every self respecting sailor would do in time of crisis and grabbed by orbital sander and hit the boat bottom.
I'm sure it looked funny with my ladder stuck in the snow. We still have 3 foot drifts in places, but under the boat is relatively clear. Sanding is a awful, dirty job, but it takes your mind off things. You just concentrate on getting out the scratches and removing the crud, up and down, then left to right.
Your arms hurt, your legs cramp and you push to get just a little more done before taking a break that is all too short. Some of it manages to get around the goggles and your eyes feel like crap. The dust mask makes them fog up so you can't see all that well either. And it is dirty, you are underneath looking directly up at the stuff you are taking off.
The bartender at the club was on a cigerette break and saw me working. He later asked me who the black guy was working on my boat. It was just me covered in copper and molidieum and vinyl base. Fun, fun, fun...
But, I got 65% done, and I'm going to have the rest ready for paint by tomorrow god willing. The sun is out and you know today I don't feel so bad. I have a plan. It's not a great one but it is better than nothing. And life goes on.
Happy Monday
Ron

PS Pats Rock!

Previous - Next

Top