Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Why do you think they call it great?
2005-01-24

Dear news people, Stop, stop, stop.... Yes, I know we have two feet of snow and yes I know there were gale force winds 6 foot drifts and scattered power outages, but this is not, repeat NOT even close to the Great Blizzard of 78. Not even close, so stop trying to compare it to that, OK?
In 78 we had 4 FEET of snow and the drifts were as high as the high school gym roof. This is not just the mind making things bigger through selective memory, I have pictures and so do you. You ran a special on the great blizzard yesterday. Don't you watch yoru own stuff?
In 78 tens of thousands were left stranded and dozens died from freezing to death in thier cars. The snow, unlike this feathery stuff was like cement and the plows couldn't move it. They had to bring in heavy construction equipment to open the roads. The state was closed down for a week. A week...
I could have driven mostly any where in the state yesterday by mid-afternoon. My drive way was plowed and walk and deck shoveled. Close? I think not so why the hysterics? I think it is all a plot from the bread anf milk industry. For some people people rush to buy bread and milk here when it snows, even if they don't eat or drink it on a regular basis. I have no idea why...
Even though this was no great blizzard, my back is killing me today from shoveling. I am getting old. Oh speaking of old, today is Puppy's 5th birthday. I plan to take him out for munchkins later at the DD drive through to celebrate. He loves to drive in the truck and he loves to eat so it is a double bonus. He deserves it, he's a good boy.
I had another job interview Friday and they basicly offered me the position, pending one more interview with one of the principals who wasn't there. The VP introduced me as the new QA Manager even though I have yet to accept the position, even if it was formally offered which at this point it sort of has not.
The money is similar as are the benefits, but this is old time manufacturing in an old mill environment. Both are about an hours drive. I've tossed and turned over this a lot, but I think I want the other position more. There just seems more of an upside in high tech. We'll see... These things have a way of working themselves out, and I hope this does too. Stay tuned, but hopefully in a week or so I will be employed. Stay tuned.
Mass. only owes me one more check. I need to call RI to file there but can't today because for some reason, we are in a state of Emergency so the state is closed. Aren't we always?
Oh and last week, it was the Colts mighty offense that was unstoppable, this week it was the steel curtain that nobody could score against. Um, 41 points doesn't sound much like a curtain. More like a turnstile. No other comments needed. Funny how the Pats just keep rolling along huh? It's nice to be on our side right now.
Well, happy Monday world. Keep warm. I need to take some advi1. Later,
Ron

Previous - Next

Top