Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Dad moms doing it again...
2004-12-30

I tried to post yesterday, honestly I did. I came here several times, but every time I got that stupid limit exceeded notice. Fix your problems Andrew or I'll go elsewhere. That is a promise, not a threat.
Puppy is helping me type this. He's been out, fed and now wants attention. Please blame any typos on him as it it is not so easy to type with a big cold dog nose periodicly nudging your hand. He is such a good friend, I can't imagine life without him, especially now.
Speaking of friends, I was in Wally World parking lot on Tuesday parked next to a van load of folks. The lady looks fairly familliar, but not totally so, so imagine my surprise when she throws her arms around me and gives me a big hug and a kiss. Somebody I sailed with years ago by her comments. I still haven't a clue and I don't usually forget pretty ladies. Strange... Her husband was not amused based on the comments he made about his wife making out with strange men in parking lots, again...
The reason I was in Wally World was that M.E needed a much bigger computer desk and we are po. When you are po, you shop at Walllys because you can buy Chinese made junk cheap there and my checkbook had cheap written all over it.
I wandered through the store and found the desk that was exactly what I wanted. Sure it was particleboard but it had a decent finish and looked nice enough. It had cabinets and drawers and lots of shelves. The price was within acceptable limits so I took the plunge. I should have remembered Wallys shopping rule #1, always look at the box when purchasing large items. I would pay for my sins.
This desk is huge folk, so big they they keep the boxes in the back. I figured there would be some assembly required, but when the box came out weighing a couple of hunderd pounds but as flat as an annorexic model, I knew I was in for a long night.
It took two of us to load it into the truck, and I was able to dump it on the garage floor all by myself, but it was foing no further. I cut open the box and made what seemed like serveral dozen trips to the bedroom where this new furnature was to reside. It was awful.
The instructions were in several languages, only one of which sort of resembled English. Even the drawers needed to be put together. I worked until mid-night with a break for dinner and several glasses of grapes. That saved me I think.
By 10:00 yesterday morning, I was finished, until I realized it didn't fit in the space alotted and had to redesign the room which involved removing a overly full bookcase, moving a huge dresser and the bed. Oh yeah, don't forget the file cabinet. Fun, fun, fun. I now had space to put the desk where I wanted it, but when I tried to move it, CRACK...
One whole side split and all the drawers fell out and the desk hat a 15 degree tilt to starboard. Sweet. I was not about to take this damn thing apart to return it so I got out the serious power tools, scrounged up some brackets, screws and managed to affect repairs that are mostly unnoticable.
I got everything together and running, put the bed back together, vacuumed and rehung some pictures and I thought it looked damn good. M.E did too and even puppy gave a wag of approval so I guess it was worth it. it had better be because it isn't moving ever again. If we leave, it stays with the house. I'm serious.
I loaded up the huge cardboard box in the truck along with the one from my palm tree for later illicit disposal at the YC Dumpster. I planned on dropping them off after my doctors appointment.
I got there early as usual and then I waited an hour an a half because all the old people with arthritis who were supposed to come Monday waited until Thursday because of the snow. I guess it took three days for them to build up the courage to go out. There si still snow out there you know.
My visit was only to let the doc know I was going to stay the course on the current meds. We had taked about a potentiasl change on my last visit, but decided to put off making a decision until now.
After waiting all that time, the nurse who took my blood pressure noted it was high. Aggrivated from the wait she asked? I nodded in assent. $20 please, have a nice day.
I did get the boxes disposed of, and did have a grapes or two and got home just in time to have home made turkey soup with M.E. She spent the night playing with her new toys so life was good.
Happy Thursday world and to Andrew Pfffffft!
Ron

Previous - Next

Top