Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

All I want for Chr1stmas
2004-12-20

It's snowing that fine powdery snow that swirls around in the wind. The temp is in the 20's and the wind is howling. Even puppy who loves the snow just wanted to do his thing and get the hell in this morning. Smart puppy.
I had parties to go to on both Friday and Saturday night and had a nice time at both. Sometimes I forget the amout of people I have as friends and folks who care.
We usually do a big sit down prime rib dinner on New Years eve with all the fixings for friends and folks who have no place to go. This year, the bidget won't allow it so we're going to do a pot luck sort of thing.
I figured that there would be lots of people making other plans, but if the initial reactions are any indication, it could be the biggest year ever. Even some folks who never come over are coming this year. Hopefully that will mark the start of a good 2005. 2004 will rank as one of the not so good ones from my perspective.
There were absolutel no jobs in yesterdays paper. None. I wonder if this is related to the fact that I couldn't sleep last night and ended up watching old movies until 2:00 am. I had the sound down really low so I wouldn't bother M.E or puppy.
When I finally turned the set off, I had all kinds of unsettling thoughts, losing the boat, the house, that kind of stuff. I had to take inventory of all my blessings and convince myself that we can hang in for a while, maybe quite a while if we have to. It won't be pleasant, but it is doable. It still took quite a while and I slept fitfully. I hate feeling like I'm not pulling my weight.
I still have stocking stuffers to buy and some food for the big family extravaganza on the 24th. Tomorrow I pick up another smoked turkey and I have a big ham sitting in the fridge. All I need are some of the fixings and dessert that M.E. and I will ignore.
I'm cold, maybe a run on the treadmill might help so I'm off. Happy Monday all.
Ron

Previous - Next

Top