Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

A sprinkling of common sense
2004-11-20

UGH, my entry got eaten. I hate it when that happens.... Damn you DLand.
Well, last nights annual YC meeting was suprisingly without incident. When the main trouble maker tried to start things she was resoundingly beaten down and I guess that set the tone that no crap would be tolerated by the small but vocal crowd in attendance and they all behaved. It can at times get ugly.
When it came time to give my report, the commodore gave me a nice introduction for which I was grateful. I kept my report as brief as humanly possible. "As fleet captain, I performed my duties in accordance with the consitution and bylaws" The end.
Some of the board think we are all there to hear them blow their own horns. Hey 0ral Roberts, here is a clue, we are there to vote, and get the meeting over so we can reopen the bar and have a drink or two. You are just a roadblock to that ultimate goal. Next time cut your report by half and it will still be 3 times too long, but it will be a start.
The members actually voted with their heads last night instead of the usualy way, with their pocketbooks. The $110 assessment to sprinkler the building passed without problems. Hell I don't even have a job, but I thought it was the right thing to do and I'm glad it passed.
I got to do a bit of major networking too with folks that have connections for the big managers job I'm up for. Both promised to make phone calls on my behalf. I guess in most cases, I'm pretty well respected at the club, although I'm not really sure why.
I also got a letter from a member demanding that he be assigned the slip of a recently deceased member. First of all demanding stuff from the person who has the potential to make your life miserable is never a good thing and B: if you are going to try to pull off something like that, at least get your facts straight...
I got the chance to call him this morning. Not only is he not getting that slip, he probably isn't getting ANY slip for the 2005 season. It seems he didn't take into account the 5 people ahead of him that are in temporary assignments that all gets spots before him.
I only have 1, maybe 2 slips opening. Tsk, tsk, and if I get a chance to stick him in a crap spot, well, we'll just have to see when the situation arises. I'll most likely be fair. It is how I am by nature, but I still like to think about the alternatives, even if I won't use them.
I got out early enough to hit the party at Kathie and Richards and got to see some friends I haven't seen in quite a while. Nice...
Oh and on the mother nature front, my yard is leave free, at least for now.
Have a great weekend!
Ron

Previous - Next

Top