Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

An endless loop
2004-11-09

I'm only on my second day of being out of work and I already hate it. I've called unemployment, touched base with my head hunters, printed up resumes, hit the classifieds and job boards. I hate all of it.
I think the thing I hate the most is people not calling you back and HR people not answering their phones or having time for a few minutes to talk. I'm not applying for an entry level position here, I'm technically senior management grade. You'd think you might want to spend 5 minutes before you "file" my resume. I'm a good person and a hard worker, honest. Sigh...
I did have an interview already. A small specialized plastic company. So far I'm their best candidate, and it is likely I'll get a call back, but I think my experience is going to be held against me. One partner raised the issue of people taking any job just to get one and then leaving when something better comes along. Smart dude... it happens. The job pays $10K less than I was making and it kind of a jack of all trades kind of thing. If they offer I'll say yes. The place has lots of room for growth and is run by engineers. It is pretty casual, and there looks to be lots of work. I won't bail out on them either if the fit is right. I can suck up the huge hole in the budget somehow.
I hate having to put on the happy face when I am not at all happy. I have to slant things at home to seem somewhat optimistic, but not so much so that I build unrealistic expectations. Damn, I'd just rather be going to work.
I have three weeks before the paychecks stop and by then the first unemployment check should be here. They aren't a lot, but they are something.
A local fameous manufacturer and importer of sunglasses is looking for a QA manager. That would be a sweet fit. The HR person wasn't available, but I left a resume. Today, the Scientific company looking for an Engineer and the Computer cabinet company looking for Quality help are on the agenda. I also have a few blind ads to reply to.
Sigh... It is really cold out. nO signs of Arnold today. And so it goes.

Previous - Next

Top