Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

The final tally
2004-11-05

Well the finally carnage of the great election of 2004 has been tallied: Three readers lost, three readers gained and at least a couple you are staying, but aren't happy. All in all sort of like the country right now, not wonderful, not catastrophic, surviving.
For those of you who are new here, the reason I started writing is kind of a long story. Those of you who've heard it before can please skip on to somebody else, but I just am in the mood to tell it today because it fits my mood I guess.
It was quite a while ago really. It truely was the dark days. I was going through a very messy divorce to an alcoholic self abusive wife of way too many years. I was truely beaten down, an emotional and physical mess. The holidays were coming up and I just couldn't see myself spending one more Christmas under that roof. I just couldn't do it. It was killing me, it really was and that is not an exageration.
I began to squrrel away money and bought the necessities, plates, silverware, pots and pans. Nothing was very good, but I've never needed much. Two weeks before Thanksgiving I moved on my sailboat and never looked back.
I was the only one living aboard at the Club. The manager wasn't happy that I got permission from the board and assigned me a slip all the way at the end of the dock. While the weather stayed good, it wasn't an issue, but come ice and snow season it could sometimes be a challange.
It got damn lonely out their sometimes. On Monday and Tuesday I was literally the only person around on the whole waterfront. I was still paying all the house bills and my new living expenses, living on beans and rice so entertainment was usually reading free books from the club library or watching the 13" TV I had crammed in the corner. It was sort of like living in a big closet. I couldn't even see outside, but hey life goes on.
I had tied a ladder to the edge of the dock, just in case I slipped. I hoped I never had to use it, but it was my only insurance policy. Two people I knew died from falling in the icy water. You only last minutes and there wasn't going to be any help. I took it very seriously.
For Christmas that year I bought a little Char1ie Brown tree and invited my closest friends over for a small get together. Everyone invited came. I've always been blessed with the best of friends. When they saw the living situation, They were not impressed. I got several invitations to move in. No thanks. I had all I needed, it was where I needed to be.
There were times when it was incredibly beautiful, sitting on the end of the dock watching the snow falling, so perfectly quiet that you could hear the flakes hitting the water. You could almost feel the hand of God letting you know that things would be OK, and they were. I even had a seal who visited a few times a day. Maybe he was alone too?
Well, after my Christmas, the friends kept hounding on me to move. It wasn't safe being out there alone in the ice and snow. To placate the masses I promised to email them all every morning to let them know I had survived the night. The first ones were just that "I survived another one. Ron" Eventually I began to throw in bits and pieces of the preceding day, jokes or what ever came to mind and it sort of became a habit I guess.
I had a friend who wrote here and suggested I join. I thought it was a dumb idea but eventually I surrendered and that's how this all started. It mostly has been a good experience and I consider the people who read me and interact with me every day my friends.
Some, like Trish have been there since day one. We've been on line friends since um, hell I can't remember when. I know if I ever needed her, she'd be there you know? I hope she knows the reverse is also true.
Others like Robin decided it was too hard to be my friend and drifted away. I won't lie, it hurt, lots. I understood the reasons though. Life is not simple and you do what you have to to keep on keeping on.
The folks I lost this week I guess I understood their reasoning less well. I wish them well and hope they have happy lives. In between are all the rest if you folks who have supported me when I'm down and congratulated me when things have gone well. Folks who have supplied a shoulder, advice, hard life taught wisdom.
I've learned about weasels and construction, reporting and eating disorders. I know more girl stuff now than I really need to know and lots and lots about being a princess. (I hope to never put that knowledge to use.)I've cried through Jenns trials and laughed at Jennifers hair. I know about yoru kids and your parents, which ones are healthy and which ones are sick. I could go and on and on and on but you get the picture.
Taken as a whole it's been a good thing even it I have been nicked up a time or too. It and you remind me that people are at heart good and that there is always reason for hope. If you remember anything about what I've written today, remember that last line. There is always reason for hope. The election is over, life goes on, have a great day.
Ron

We now return you to our regularly scheduled inane banter. Good day!

Previous - Next

Top