Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Lesser of two weavels
2004-11-02

I had some time (and energy) to kill last night so I mulched leaves in the dark. I only missed a few spots and did not cut off any body parts so I guess you could call it a sucess. I did.
I will be so glad when this election is over, but like most people, I fear the result. No matter what side you are on here, I think half the people feat the result. That's just sad.
Yes we will vote tonight dispite the fact that RI is a one party corrupt state. People here just don't get it. They re-elect the same crooks over and over and then complain when the system is broke. We're controlled by unions and special intrests, taxes keeep going up and jobs going away, but people won't vote for a change. We're not smart enough to deserve good government I guess.
In one local city a few miles away, you know the one which just recently had the lowest bond rating in the country.... School crossing guards who work less than 2 hours a day 180 days a year get paid full medical (no copay), three weeks of sick time, two weeks paid vacation, and retirement after 25 years no matter what their age. Not bad huh? For crossing guards.... The catch, you have to know somebody of course.... or make the proper off the books donation.... Sigh... In a one party system, they is not only tolerated, it is expected.
Folks here get called in front of the ethics commission all the time. The ethics commission that they appointed and that probably is chaired by their brother in law. No matter how severethe offense, the penalty is always a small fine and a slap on the wrist. We'd elect a chimpanse if his name was Kennedy. Hmmm, come to think of it we have several times. Why do I bother... Because you still have to have hope I guess. Maybe when things get bad enough people will wise up and vote for change. Maybe not.
Either way we are going out to dinner after and I'm going to have several drinks.... and keep my fingers crossed.
and life goes on.

Previous - Next

Top