Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

If only you believe in miracles baby...
2004-10-28

I'm running on fumes, I no longer have fingernails, my back is killing me. There is a part of me that still doesn't believe it. They won, they really won... Swept the Cards in 4. Who would have thought it.
I know they were ahead from the begining, but I never ever chilled out until I saw the ball hit the first basemans mitt for the final out. Unitl then I was on the edge of my seat, figiting, praying, trying to make them win by my will power alone. I'm pretty sure I'm not alone. We all wanted it so bad. It's just a game right? How can it affect us this way? And yet it most assuredly does.
A lot of ghosts were slayed last night and I'm sure thru New England a lot of tears, happy tears were shed. It is our time damn it, we waited 86 years. Is it worth it? Oh yeah... Oh YEAH... There were actually a few times when I was on the edge of tears. What's up with that?
Now all those mal-aligned players like Buckner and Stanley can rest peacefully. 1918 is now a footnote, not a slogan. Bucky Dent insted of being the anti-hero is just another banjo hitter with an name that sounds like a toothpaste for beavers.
Before you always knew they'd find a way to lose. Now there is hope, coming back from 3-0. It had never been done before. Neither had winning eight straight play off games. They are winners and by association, so are we.
We drank white wine instead of champagne, but it was fine. We watched the post game coverage until way after 1:00 am. I so wished I was there but still was happy where I was, you know. It is going to be a long day. I don't care... and life goes on.

Previous - Next

Top