Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

A little bit of this, a little bit of that.......
2004-10-07

I have a meeting at one of my other YC's(I belong to three) to go to tonight. There is an alternate slate proposed for the executive board. it should be a rock fight. Why can't people get along? At least I get to go to Newp0rt. Sigh...
Some of my friends from WAY down south in the Chesapeake are having skipper problems. There are two sure fire rules in racing, Life is too short to be on a bad boat and crew are worth thier weight in gold. I have a third, you always have room for one more.
I've never left any of my crew on the dock. I don't usually leave members of other peoples crew on the dock. If you make the effort to show up, you should play. You might not be a rock star for a night, but you'll at least have a place for your butt someplace on board.
I've used this philosopy even when we were VERY serious and it has always served me well. The only time you can ever have too much talent is when the politics start in and you get the I should be trimming chute not him kind of crap. It's one of the reasons I race crusing class now.
I can sail the boat with two experinced folks and another three motivated people. When we're loaded for bear, it makes life easy. When were not, I just tone down expectations a bit and we still have fun. I figured out a while back that there is no reason to get all wound up over a $50 tin plate.
Don't get me wrong, I like the compteition, but back in the old days, if it was blowing 35 we'd think nothing of risking life and equipment. Now I like to think I have more common sense. If you don't agree, fine, but come Monday, I won't be black and blue with a busted rig. Will you?
The day here is going by slowly. The new furnature is wonderful. Anybody need a mostly uncomfortable 5 peice green sectional with a built in bed? I didn't think so, so off to the local charity I'll have to haul it this weekend.
Ah well back to the rock pile. Happy Thursday.
me

Previous - Next

Top