Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

The life of a swinger
2004-09-13

I went down to the boat Saturday to do some cleaning. It was filthy from the week we spent aboard at Block and I can't stand a dirty boat. As soon as I opened the hatch, I smelled...hmmmm, something not right. It wasn't as bad as if something crawled up and died in there, but it definately was sort of a not so fresh odor. Do they make fiberglass hygiene products?

Well I figured it was probably the bilge since some sink water got dumped in there during vacation when I was cleaning a clog. After much cleaning and bleach there was still smell. Blah... Then I cleaned the head. Still smell... I popped the fridge and it looked pretty disgusting. I completely emptied it, washed every can and bottle, and cleaned it with bleach. Still smell... and when I went to throw all the paper towels away, week old garbage. SMELL!!! Ahhh, so after hauling the remains of who knows what away, things got better.

I scrubbed the decks, oiled the teak and washed the cabin sole. We were back to clean and shiny and all was right with the world. I didn't get home until 8:00 and I was beat. I ended up asleep by 10:00, not a bad thing.

Yesterday was the local 5K and I do it every year with M.E. and her sister. But, I hadn't sailed in like forever so I didn't go. Nobody came down so I sailed alone. I was actually hoping for a solo. Sometimes the peace and quiet are not a bad thing. It was a beautiful day day, not a cloud in the shy. I put on some Buffet, poured a grapes and watched the world go by at three knots.

I found a great spot to drive from, back against the life sling, arm wrapped around the bimini frame. I was perfectly comfortable, content and relaxed. Life was good.

I went out to the lighthouse, back in and then out again. I met up with a friend trying to fix one of the racing marks that got run over by a probably drunk powerboater leaving one of the local waterfront bars. Using tape, line, a lobster pole, and an old protest flag, we now have more than the 6" stump that was there when we started.

Then I went back to the mooring, set up the hammock and ignored the world for a bit. I was fortunate enough that it ignored me back.

Happy Monday people.

Ron

Previous - Next

Top