Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

and me, I'm driving in my Taxi....
2004-08-24

It was a very bitter sweet night. There were hundreds of people there, I wasn't surprised. I kept looking for people I knew, wondering if I'd recognize them all. Some looked familliar, some hadn't changed, some well, we all get older I guess.

Evelyn was one who hadn't changed much. Even after the cancer, she still looked like I remembered her. I got to the casket and paid my respects and said goodbye. I wanted to touch her arm but the kneeler was too far away. I wondered of they did that on purpose? Ev would not have been pleased. She was a touchy person.

Tommy G was really surprised to see me. Hey what are friends for, right? He seemed to be hanging on OK, but you got the feeling that it was mostly on the surface. He held on to my hand the whole time we talked like he was hanging on to a link to better happier times.

We talked about getting the old gang together for a few beers. I'll make the arrangements just like I use to. I was always the one who had to make things happen. They always needed a nudge. Once the ball started rolling the things went fine, but the first push was always mine. I guess that's why we drifted apart. I stopped pushing.

The kids looked just like them, one of each. What do you tell somebody who just lost their mom? I'm realy very sorry. I meant it too.

Ev's sister Judy didn't recognize me at first until I gave her a big hug. Then her eyes opened the size of dinner plates and she hung on like her life depended on it. She looked great, I think she was expecting... and the circle goes on, right?

I worked my way down a line of people I didn't know, family of some sort I guess. They didn't offer, I didn't ask. I was ther for Tommy and Judy and most of all for Ev, and me too I guess. I've dealt with this too often in my life. It never does get easier.

On the way out I ran into Kelly who looks 20 years older than he is. He left his wife and kids for reasons unknown. We talked about some of the old times and getting together. I was almost to the door when I ran into JoAnn and Kathie.

JoAnn recognized me first, Kathy not at all. She said I hadn't changed a bit, and I told her I knew it wasn't true. Funny though, you could tell she meant it. Funny how people see things.

Kathy looked different, but as beautiful as ever. I had a major crush on her back then, one I never would have acted on. I was shy then and she was way beyond my reach. She married a guy I hated. Life goes on. We made small talk and had a major hug. They were both solo. I didn't look for a ring. Sometimes it is better, just remembering life as it was.

I walked out sadder than I would have imagined and headed to the club for a drink. I still had my tie on. Life does change.

Previous - Next

Top