Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Damn this traffic jam, hurts my motor to go so slow
2004-07-06

It was a pretty lazy 4th of July for me. We didn't take off any where interesting, didn't do that much exciting, hell, I didn't even sail once. Why am I so tired?

Saturday I invited a bunch of folks to watch the local fireworks via boat. We had 14 people in all and it was mostly fun. I say mostly because the fireworks and company were great, but the idiots you see on the water, well... Lets just hope Darw1n was right OK?

There were the couple in two kayaks who in the pitch black looked pretty damn invisable and almost got run over several times. Then there was the guy in the row boat without lights. I almost hit him once and he had several other close calls. No lights seemed to bee a fairly common theme. People, it is dark out, without lights you look like ocean, duh...

There were more boats anchored off the beach then I've ever seen there so of course some idiots (do you see a theme here) had to go motoring between them at 25 knots kicking up a huge wake and making a mess of things. It's probably the same people who use giant spotlights to see and blind everybody within a mile or so. Very considerate.

Sunday we headed to Newp0rt to see the giant fireworks and the Qu&&n Mary. Newp0rt was a zoo. I've never seen that many people there ever. The YC lot was full so we parked next door until they started towing cars.

I moved to the stste pier wich is also illegal to park at but hey there were 2000 cars in front of me so I figured I was safe. We were but the whole place smeeled like rotted fish. It didn't stop the hundreds fo people who sat there to watch the show though. Some even let thier kids play on the lobster traps. Maybe they have nasel malfunctions? Their clothes and the car seats must have been a real treat yesterday.

We grabbed a bite to eat at Brick Alley and then checked out the QM which had just come in and dropped anchor. this is a HUGE ship, kind of ugly but big. They had a nice seat for the fireworks, but were just in for the show and nobody got to go ashore. Oh well...

We got a front row table on the second floor YC deck. Sweet. We eventually had 10 people join us and there must have been a couple of hundred on the deck when the fireworks started. The fireworks were really good, but with the amount of stuff they blew off durting the main show, I was a little disapointed in the grand finale. It was good, but not spectacular.

After the fireworks ended the fun began, trying to get home. The city seemed to take the tactic that we were all on our own. This approach was less than sucessful. We sat in the car for 30 minutes and didn't move so we headed back to the club for hotdogs and popcorn (I do like a balanced diet) and waited another hour. Nothing changed and the same cars were in the same spots. Nice...

Eventually I went down and a buch of happy drunk kids let me in line. They were busy dancing and not ready to go home maybe? I called the folks at the club and told them to meet me at the street. The timing was perfect. After that it was bumper to bumper all the way to and across the bridges. It usually takes 20 minutes to get home. We got in at 1:00 am. Nice job NPD.

Yesterday was a mostly chill day. I read the paper, we went out for chowda and clamcakes hit the club for one and to watch our friends come hom ein the rain and were home well before the 6:00 news came on.

And today is another day.

Happy Tuesday Monday!

Ron

Previous - Next

Top