Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

The road less taken
2004-07-01

Why the hell have I been up since 5:00 am? Couldn't sleep so I might as well get up I guess. It is going to be a long day. I hate not being insomnia. News on the race front was as good as my condition right now, awful. Well, actually the race was fine, the results were awful because the Race Committee tried to get creative and gaffed it all up.

It was a really beautiful night for a race, perfect conditions, mostly flat water and 12 knots of true wind out of the southwest. The bottom was clean and the boat was ready so you knew something was going to be screwed up right? Right.

First Paul called and said he had a wake to go to. Then Bob and Laura were stuck in traffic. I had no choice but to wait for them. We were late getting to the line and getting the course and thats where the fun started. They had set a turning mark 3.5 miles upwind and then set up another mark .35 miles from that then first. At least that's what they wrote. What they meant was the second mark was .35 miles behind the starting line or 3.85 miles away. Oops.

We had an OK start, St0rmin N0rman was barging and a couple of us protested him. He thought he was fine, both us and Evil 42 could have taken him through the committee boat. Not good. By the time we reached what should have been the weather mark we were up 8 lengths or so. Nice... But there was no other mark .35 miles away.

We kept going only to watch everybody else round the mark. Apparently they announced on the radio what they really meant and we didn't hear it. First to last in one pop.

Well, we dug back in and started passing boats all over again. We actually made it back to third at one point until we screwed up the last mark rounding off a lee shore surrounded by rocks. Nice place to set a bouy guys. UGH! We corrected out to 6th our worst finish of the year and I was bummed. It really bothered me. We had a few beers and watched the sun set. Sigh...

The RC must have known they screwed up because they were no where to be found when we got in. The chief beneficiary of our gaff came over and started boasting. Um, Vince, bad timing now get out of my face. It was bad enough he almost backed into us at the dock before the race started but now he is picking at an open scab. I don't think so.

I left reasonably early and most of the crew was still at the club. I had some food, watched some tube and then laid there wide awake. Hmm, that's where this started right? I have a job interview in 3 hours. I wonder if I can catch a nap before then? Probably not. Nothing like making a good impression huh? I know, you'd kill to be me right now. Blah..

Happy Thursday all. Hope you slept well.

Later

me

Previous - Next

Top