Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

The heat was hot and the ground was dry but the air was full of sounds
2004-06-10

It just wasn't a good night. My head was else where and we were pre-programmed to fail and so we did. When I couldn't find a parking spot, I just should have gone home, but that is not how the game is played, so I got the boat together and waited for the crew in the opressive heat.

As we headed out, the first thing I noticed was the speed instrument was out. I sail to target boat speeds alot so this was a pain, but I've sailed whole seasons without any instruments so no big deal. I should have taken it as an omen.

My main trimmer was in 0klahoma and we had a friend filling in. She is a good sailor, but taming my main in a breeze takes a bit of brute strenth. The breeze was up and control of the main is important on a boat our size. I was concerned but we plodded on.

The race commitee in their infinate wisdom and ability decided to start us some place on the other side of the planet. Seriously, we were half way to Newport before they set the line. Nice... Because of the long delivery, (45 minutes for us) they had to delay the start. When the gun finally went off, I was a few seconds late hiting the watch, but that was Ok.

The A class went off with 2 boats over early. I was determined to just get a conservative start and played things wrong. We ended up at the wrong end with hardly any boat speed on when our start went off and were immediately rolled by two other boats. Blah.

We got things straightened out and then the tack for the jib blew up. That meant the bottom of the sail was no longer attached to the deck. I had a replacement in the drawer, but pounding up wind in 15 to 18 true wind, the crew just couldn't get it on. I finally just had them attach the sail to the deck instead of the furling drum. That fixed problem number one but created several more.

We were moving now and catching up with some of the boats in front of us. I couldn't point worth a crap though and sure enough the sheet leads were in the wrong place for where the sail was now attached. We really couldn't move them back under the loads they were on so we had to suck it up and wait for the next tack. Our trip to Block also loosened up the rig some and that wasn't helping matters much. Add one more thing on the list to do this weekend.

Dispite all that, we rounded the first mark of the double windward/leeward course in third and I hoped to make up some ground on the downhill side except we couldn't get the damn pole up. I kept reaching off to keep the sail full, but it took forever to get things set and finally aim at the mark. Not good.

We never caught up and the second time around was anticlimatic. We finished 5 of 8. We sailed back under the main had beers and discussed what we needed to do to improve. The crew was down and so was I honestly. Not a great way to start the series.

By the time we got in we were all in better spirits and we hit the mooring and called the launch. Then we waited, and waited. It seems one of the staff was demoted to launch driver for the evening and he wasn't happy. Because I am on the board, I took the brunt and he made us wait and wait and wait. It took and hour. We had beer and it was a nice night so I didn't mind much but the crew was getting antsy. Now I need to talk to the club manager. Sigh..

When we finally got in, I had a grapes or two, got into a verbal fight with one of the RC chase boat people who thinks he is gods gift to racing and headed home only to find a ticket from the YC parking nazis for parking where I always park when there are no spots. Just a super way to end a wonderful night.

Oh one more thing, layoffs are today. Sometimes I think I need a new life.

Later

Previous - Next

Top