Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Hot hot hot
2004-06-09

M.E. is still sick and I've been trying to avoid close contact. So far it is working. She went to the doctors yesterday and he put her on anti-biotics. It's funny, but nurses don't believe that anybody else in the world could possibly be really sick but they are the biggest babies when they get a sniffle. Sigh.. I did get more sleep last night though.

I went down to wash the boat and ice down the beers for tonights race. It is supposed to be 92 degrees today and of course since it is a race night thunderstorms are in the forecast. Blah.

Neil was sitting on the deck drinking a V&T and convinced me by boat work could wait while we jumped in his powerboat and went to watch the Tuesday night races. He was right. I grabbed a glass of grapes and we headed out.

It was a beautiful night on the water, warm, breezy clear. The Tuesday fleet has certainly gone down hill since I was in my hay day. This fleet use to be the best on the Bay which was saying something since some of the best sailors in the world are locals. Now it is a bit ragtag and the skill level is down tons, but I guess they are having fun so that's all that matters.

We watched for a while and then came in so I could ice the cooler. Neil washed his boat while I sat and talked to Johnny the Chin on his 44 footer in the next slip. It was absolutely perfect out, there weren't even any bugs. Ahhh, I wonder what the poor people were doing.

Without the affordability of the YC, I'm not sure I'd be able to keep the boat we have now. I think there are lots of people like that here, but no doubt they are out numbered by those to whom money is no object. I've never been in that position and more than likely never will be. I keep buying those P0werball tickets and hoping though.

Well back to work. Big boss is in town so being busy in these times of layoffs is inportant. Happy Humpday!

Ron

Previous - Next

Top