Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Raindrops keep falling on my head
2004-06-04

It rained just enough yesterday at just the right time to give me an excuse not to cut the lawn. The yard looks like a jungle with all the rain we've had. Everything is just so GREEN! My back yard is one of the most peaceful and private places I know. From the back deck all you can see is the grass and woods beyond. Hard to imagine we are only half a mile from major civilization. Hmmm, the jungle is peaceful but civilization is a jungle? Somthing like that.

The forecast for the weekend, more rain. If I wanted to live in Seattle, I'd move there damn it (no offense RDG).

It looks to be a lazy weekend with no sailing in sight. Sigh... I think M.E. committed us to going to a jazz and martini party at the YC tonight. The martini glasses have blinking lights in the stems. I'm not sure why that's important but it seems to be so.

One of my inspectors put in for a voluntary layoff. She's one of my best people and a nice person too. She just isn't making enough money here. I'm going to try and get her more, but it isn't likely. It makes me sad, like the feeling I've failed somehow even though it is totally out of my control. You try and protect your flock, but sometimes the wolves just can't be controlled.

I had trouble sleeping last night again. My dreams lately have been so real that I wake up tired. I even had to stop for "leaded" coffee this morning, but it doesn't seem to be helping. And life goes on.

Happy Friday world! The weekend is near.

Later

me

Previous - Next

Top