Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Wickf0rd, Part deux
2004-05-24

Well, we just made the announcement about the layoffs and the place is as quiet as a tomb. God I hate this part of business. Not good.... Peoples lives reduced to dollars and cents. And life goes on?

Well, I guess back to the weekend....

We woke up Saturday to overcast skies and humidity. We had breakfast and watched a little tube to find out what the weather was going to do. They didn't know and neither did we.

When Mike and Claude showed up, we headed out to wander the town and it was nice. The streets were quiet and treelined the yards well maintained and filled with flowers. Every other house had a sign that said something like Smith-Jones house, 1743. The town itself is full of quaint shops that sell stuff nobody needs but that you some how can't resist at least looking at. They also had a small supermarket, drug store and liquor store and several places to eat.

We hit a tavern for healthy sandwiches (mine was a grilled veggie pocket) and I had a glass of grapes, my first in a week. I was thinking about the upcoming ceremony and feeling a bit unsettled. It started at 3:00 and we got there about 15 minutes early.

Everybody was dressed casually in our normal boating attire. I talked to Greg and the scattering of Phils' ashes was really sad, but went as well as could be expected I guess. There was a last minute wind shift and they got Phil all over the transom and had to wash him off with a bucket. I told Greg that it seemed appropriate and he agreed, but we're not sure Phil's wife appreciated it much.

Inside was an open bar with beer and wine. I poured myself a tall red grapes and looked at the blown up pictures of Phil sailing. Everybody had brought food, but I had no intrest in eating. I poured another glass of grapes and waited for things to begin.

There was a list of folks that they had invited to speak. I was about #5 on that list. Everybody had Phil stories and it was pretty light hearted until Peters' turn came. He started, broke down, started and just crashed. I understood exactly how he felt too, and it turned out I was next great.

Now I was struggling to fight back the tears myself but I got things together and if I do say so myself did a pretty decent job. People laughed later a few cried, that was Phil, as unique an individual as could be and one who lived life on his own terms. I miss him.

Several people later thanked me for my words and that made me feel a bit better. I did break down later for a brief bit, just a memory that set me off, but I recovered and life went on. Towards the end we raised a toast in the honor of our friend and then we headed back to the boat for dinner and drinks.

The food was good, company was better and at the end of the night I again slept fitfully which is unusual for me on the water. I usually sleep like a rock. Maybe it was an omen. Sunday was to be a trying day....

Previous - Next

Top