Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

The long and winding road....
2004-05-11

It was already 71 degrees at the bank clock at 8:00 this morning. I can deal with that. It is going to be mid to high 80's today. That might be a bit much. It's race night so of course thunderboomers are in the forecast.

Have I mentioned I hate lightning while racing? I'm pretty sure I have a few hundered times or so. Having a 55 foot lightning rod a metal steering wheel and no where to run, might have something to do with that. Not good.

The crew was short handed last week, but still managed to add a third place to the first we got the week before. Exil 42 was deep again. I feel so bad for them (NOT).

(Boat stuff for Jenn, non-boaters please ignore). I added a fine tune to the main sheet to make it easier to trim in a breeze and set up the cunningham last night. The wind instruments are also now calibrated I think.

My mainsail trimmer notified me by email that he is retiring because his hands hurt. He has already been replaced by somebody with more talent and personality so I'm not overly crushed. Life goes on you know...

It turns out I had my dates all gaffed up. The commodores ball is this weekend and the memorial for Phil is next weekend. M.E. managed to get off call so now I don't have to go solo and we may go to Wickford after work on Friday. Sweet. Wickford is a artsy little town about an hour and a half south of here and it is a great place to walk and people watch. I need to call Amanda and see if she can puppy sit though. Puppy loves Amanda.

New boss has been treating me nicer the last few days. I'm not sure what's up there, but I like it. We had two false alarms on the chemical warning system yesterday and now the facilities guy is in the barrel. Better him than me. People are getting conditioned ot ignore the alarm, not good. I told my people, if you hear it, get the hell out, even if you think it is just another false one. Better safe than dead.

Pam (Sixweasels) lost another critter yesterday so please stop by and send her some hugs. It's been a tough year for the weasel clan, so hopefully things will all be better from here on out.

I've got a report to write so I guess this is it for now. Have a wonderful Tuesday!

Ron

Previous - Next

Top