Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Sittin on the dock on the bay, wasting time......
2004-04-12

Well, the first sail of the season is under our belts and at best I can say it was OK. It was bolowing 25 to 30 knots and when the water temp is still in the low 40's, that is just too cold and too much work to enjoy totally. We did manage to get in and out without incident and everything worked sort of so it was a good shake down. Now bring on the good weather, I'm ready.

Actually the best part of the day was when everybody left. Not that I'm not a social butterfly with the best of them, but being out there on the end of the dock, totally alone and floating was the best. I sat drinking in the sunshine and milked a glass of merlot for close to two hours. I didn't want to leave. It was as close to being perfectly content in a very long time. I wish I could bottle that feeling.

Yesterday we had to do the family Easter dinner thing and it took way too long of a chunk out of my weekend. I do not need to sit and eat (but mostly wait) for three hours on a Sunday. M.E. says I hide it well, but she knows. My brother inlaw doesn't do it nearly so well and it irritates my sister. She'll get over it.

After eating, we changed clothes and hit the club which was closed and got a few things accomplished. The battens are now in the main and the reef lines too. As an added bonus we folded the mainsail nicely before putting the cover back on. Then we took a walk to check out the progress of the competition and then sat in the rocking chairs on the deck like a couple of old folks. Nice. I know, I'm getting boring and you know what? I really don't mind. Sometime boring is good.

I hope you all had a great weekend. Happy Monday.

me

Previous - Next

Top