Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

and you know, it makes me wonder, whats going on down under you...
2004-03-16

I know why I'm down. I've been in this situation before. I once took a job at a huge electronics place in Mass. I took it because the money was good and the guys I'd be working for were two of the best I'd ever interviewed with. It was a great team, we all fit, the job was interesting, lots of work and I was having fun.

Then as is the want of huge coperations, they shook things up. Big boss got transfered to a different division and my boss left the company. This all happened when I was there just 6 months, the same amount of time I have in here.

The replacement big boss had absolutely no personality or people skills. The replacement boss came from a tiny dividion of the company and was in way over his head. He knew it and worse than that he knew we all knew it. He was afraid of me and he had good reason. Obviously we didn't get along.

At the time due to people leaving and not being replaced, I was doing the work of 3 engineers. Previous boss understood this and didn't load me down with stupid things. New guy on the other hand wanted things done his way and his way included lots of stupid things.

When stuff started to crash, and new boss didn't listen to reason, I went to big boss. His advice? Just suck it up. Worse than that he tokd new boss I had come in and complained. This was nail #2.

When I broke my ankle (fourth floor office, no elevator) I was late for work one morning because I couldn't figure out how to take out the trash on crutches. He was waiting at my desk to read me the riot act. When I left 5 minutes early from a meeting a couple of weeks later that was on the first floor so I wouldn't have to climb the stairs again, I got written up. I started looking for a new job immediately.

Well he continued to harass me right up to the day I quit. Then he was seriously surprised. He wanted to know why and I was fairly nice about it, but I made sure he knew it was all about him. Now he paniced, hell everybody knew, even an over his head boss that I was carrying half the department. What could he do to make things right. Um, a personality change? No, nothing, I don't think I fit here. I'm sorry and have a nice life.

I heard they had to hire three people to replace me and the budget went all to hell. Now the place is shutting down production and all the jobs are being shipped over seas. I guess t all worked out in the end. Except it's deja vu all over again.

Well there is a big exception I guess. Big boss is still here and while he can be difficult, he likes me and appreciates all the stuff I've done here already. I've heard him tell corporate all the things I've managed to accomplish so far and when I've met the big shots they all know who I am. Maybe this time, things will be different? We'll see I guess, but either way it make me sad.

Previous - Next

Top